250 – three

=== well, now, that was close. good go. === him, smiling at me.

===uh-uh, we’re not to the top of the tree yet; race isn’t over. === and as I started climbing further to the top branches; positive cuz of his weight being more than my own, I could surely climb up farther than he’d be able; he’d break branches I would easily be supported by – I heard from the Man (below): === you little vixen, you out maneuvered me! === vixen you say? I dare not! all’s fair up here in the air. I win! === (now, who’s smiling – thinking, not saying!)

I was swaying in the upper-most branches, holding onto the slimmest of limbs. he? pretty good; he was able to touch my foot from where he was (I’d kicked off my sandals to get up there) – but [knew] if he kept going up, the weight would take us both down…

=== okay, you win. === thank you, Sir. === hey? === what? === do you trust me? === yeahhhh; but why ask? === are you willing to jump? free fall down? === are you crazy? === absolutely! === look, I’ll come down a few branches and you can win, okay? === no, stay up there; I’ll climb down and then you jump; I promise I’ll catch you. will you do it? === how are you so sure you can catch me? === how come you question me when I say you’ll be okay? === because i’m going out to dinner with my grandparents this eve and my dress will look better if one of my legs isn’t broken with a cast. === i’ll catch you! === i’ll jump then! === there’s my girl; remember coming out of the branches you need to jump in a v with legs/head up. === i know! === no, you don’t! === yes, I do. === good, then jump! ===

and i did, and he caught me, and it was fun and he didn’t drop me.

(to be continued)

About KatherinePopeWolcott

currently compiling thoughts/writings -- notebooks full, pulled apart and put back together and then something new, and here it all comes. two books being finished in the interim. Sometimes really frustrating. I remain with little interest in attempting to learn the "how to" parts of blogging because I'm technically inept, so multiple limitations are always present; just try not to think about... but other creations coming soon -- I think I am able to scan/pdf; what I am currently working on (paintings and photos and painted photos) once finished; or get someone else to do it for me.
This entry was posted in other, poems, poetry, thoughts, writing. Bookmark the permalink.