beat

there’s a song I like to sing, and when I’m walking in the rain it sounds like sparkles from the sky are keeping beat for me as each raindrop hits the street I smile as the puddles soak my feet then something’s whispered (in the wind) when the wind decides it’s time to speak:  are you singing the same song I once showed you long ago in a child’s dream?  (as he smiled, lips curve apart… I think just to set the beat)  why yes I am how did you know and will you sing with me? come here, he said, I can sing the rest for you and you can dance for me…

(and) you were always watching from the other side but always the same street until puddles formed in through long hours and swelled into a stream i looked across to wave and tell you I was there but then a current ripped too wide and why you disappeared

i like walking in the rain day dreaming of that beat i like walking with the wind and dancing in my sleep  i like walking in the rain running closer back to you and one night when the moon’s shone through I’ll turn around when the tide’s gone down and there you still will be.

I like walking in the rain and dancing in my dreams.

@10/05/2012 by KPW

About KatherinePopeWolcott

currently compiling thoughts/writings -- notebooks full, pulled apart and put back together and then something new, and here it all comes. two books being finished in the interim. Sometimes really frustrating. I remain with little interest in attempting to learn the "how to" parts of blogging because I'm technically inept, so multiple limitations are always present; just try not to think about... but other creations coming soon -- I think I am able to scan/pdf; what I am currently working on (paintings and photos and painted photos) once finished; or get someone else to do it for me.
This entry was posted in other, poems, poetry, thoughts, Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink.